Always ready…. K-Rad

Roads don’t worry me anymore. Since Portland I’ve kind of been winging it, and its gone surprisingly well. Armed with a paper map(which I use mostly) and Google maps(for topographical purposes), I have linked together squiggly lines, dotted lines, and barely visible grey lines that have brought me within 15 miles of Tacoma( which is were ill be in an hour or so). If I see a line on a map, I go for it. This carefree exploration is due, mainly to my Novaro Aspen and it’s brooding 2.3 Kenda K-Rad’s. This bike is a beast that eats up any road I choose to put it on. At any point the pavement can end, and I have no doubts that the Aspen can handle it.

image

image

image

When Riding long distances without a proper map, it is essential to always have confidence in your equipment and basically be “prepared” for the road to turn to shit. Because it does often.

image

image

image

image

image

High volume tires are the way to go for touring, in my opinion. Of course you’ll get the standard questions:
Q.”Don’t them big tires slow ya down?”
A. ” not when I don’t have to slow down for cracks in the road. Or swerve for small potholes. Or road kill”.
Q. “But ain’t that a mountain bike tire?”
A. “I’ve ridden over mountains”.
Q. “Aren’t those tires heavy?”
A. ” not as heavy as the weight of the same question be asked in the every town I come to….. ( I wouldn’t say that last one….. Ive wanted to though)

You get the idea. Your going to get silly questions. Basically, I stand by my tire.

image

image

image

One thought on “Always ready…. K-Rad

Leave a Reply

