Somehow in Dayton, with new friends

I arrived in Dayton this evening with two new friends, and a blurred memory of the past few days.

image

Kamiah is where I left route 12 for a few days. It is where I was awaken at 3am from the sprinklers in a park I slept in, and it is where I decided that I don’t like how people feel they can ask you anything when your on a bicycle.

image

image

In this wonderful little diner in “downtown Kamiah”, I was eating a proper spinach and fetta omelet when a man and his wife decided to impose upon my privacy. They approached from the south, and began to fire all manner of private questions about my life, finances, my sore ass, etc.
This is not the first time this has happened to me on this trip. So, to eliminate further questioning, I fired questions back. Needless to say the barrage was soon over, and the darling old couple was on their merry way. When you carry what some people think is your life on your bike, in public, I think some people feel your life is public domain, and is at their disposal.
Just an observation…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After leaving Lewiston, I was suddenly and miraculously in Clarkston WA. Bam! Just like that. Soon after climbing out of Clarkston I met Gabby and Zoey. Two Rad girls that can pedal for days. We decided to roll together for a few, and see where the wind takes us.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We are now in Dayton enjoying the warm hospitality of Genie, our motherly warmshowers host. Love this lady.

image

Here’s her 300lbs butcher block. RAD!

image

One thought on “Somehow in Dayton, with new friends

  1. Oh yes, questions are your only ammunition. Even the where do you live, where are you going type will event he field. Many times, they don’t want to be interrogated and move on. I can hear people whispering about the fat tire/moto/bicycle everywhere I go. I want to shout, “It’s just a bike!”

    Looks like fun. I haven’t showered since Bozeman.

Leave a Reply

