Big Sur to Monterey

Still in California, and on this day I awoke with a need to see the ocean. So, I grabbed some buddies, my flip flops, hopped in the Kia rental and headed for the coast. It felt unnatural to be driving past all these beautiful dirt roads that undoubtedly lead into some epic single track adventures. But these are the breaks, and I don’t believe I hit these breaks once on the way down to the clear blue of Big Sur.

image

image

Foggy upon descent into Big Sur  was the talk of the soccer mom mobile. For we hadn’t the slightest idea that this was something that occurs often here. However, we pressed on to monterey. Stopping along the way for photographs and such. All the while, my eyes were fixed to the hills. All the dirt roads that seem to scream adventure! And there I was, not a single pedal to push nor a saddle to sit that could lead me to these possible adventures I craved. Nevertheless, my spirit remained high. For I know one day I will return to this magical land called California and blaze these trails that are most certainly over due for some blazing

image

We hit the beach, head on. Well, more like toe in. The water was cold of course…. Of course. But in my head, I envisioned california with swimmable beaches. Then what was this? Wetsuit required I suppose.

image

image

image

Once in Monterey, the bellies began to rumble. A BBQ smell punched us in the face from a hole in the wall place near the monterey coast guard pier, and we began to drull. Pork plates and cheese cake filled the gut, and emptied the wallet. But the food was perfect and the beer was cold, so complaints were non existant. Oh! And the seals were there too, grunting and arffing a beautiful after dinner melody, and generally causing a ruckus. Beautiful bastards they are.

image

image

image

2 thoughts on “Big Sur to Monterey

Leave a Reply

